Five Reasons Not To Get An E-Reader

For my mother’s 79th birthday later this month, her four children are going to give her an e-reader. We have yet to decide which one to give her, but she’s very keen to join this trend.

As a frequent traveler, and avid reader, she finds that she’s always lugging 12 hard-cover books wherever she goes (often London to visit me!). So she’d like to lighten her load. Apparently, several of her friends already have e-readers and they are all thrilled with them.

I have mixed feelings about this present. On the one hand, as someone who — by her own admission — barely has running water and electricity, my mother is not exactly what you’d call techno-savvy. So there is a dragging-her-into-the-21st century quality to this gift, which, as someone who spends all day online, I welcome with open arms.

On the other hand, I’m also wary of the onslaught of e-readers. I worry about what happens to our society when we no longer read those great artifacts of the 20th century: books.

Read the rest of this post at www.PoliticsDaily.com

Image: 23/365 plus 1 [eReader] by The Hamster Factor  via flickr under a Creative Commons license.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

7 Responses to Five Reasons Not To Get An E-Reader

  1. Leah says:

    Everyone I know that has an e-reader still reads regular books, frequents the library, and supports local independent bookstores. I’ve had a Nook since January and I love it. For travel it’s a lot easier than carrying around a 1,000 page hardcover. If the user is a true book lover I do not picture it replacing actual books. For folks that are just gadget lovers it seems to get them to actually read more which is great too.

  2. Daryl Boylan says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with Leah; my sole interest in an e.r. is for travel — I too prefer real books, tho’ I must confess to a prejudice in favor of paper to hard covers (weight, weight — ditto price, price). That e.r.s will replace or even hurt librairies I doubt. There’s no ? that the purveyors of e.r.s are solely interested in their bottom lines, but anything, repeat anything, that gets more people to read books in any form can only be a good thing.

  3. Shelley says:

    I’m hoping that if buyers love reading well enough to buy an e-reader, they will still love books. I can appreciate the travel convenience and perhaps if one lived in a very small space without room for actual books, these would be good. I’ve no plans for one at present – they’ll have to be cheap like the bottom level of mobile phones now; and I’ll have to be able to borrow my e-books from the library still!

    • Leah says:

      I have a friend with an e-reader (she too has the Nook) and 100% of the books she reads on there are e-books from the library. With many libraries having reduced hours and reduced budgets (some are closing) it’s nice to see they can still get the recent releases for less $.

  4. Mary Murphy says:

    I recently bought an i pad, and I just love it. We went to Philadelphia for a long weekend and instead of three of my favorite books hanging heavy in my Times bag, I had my i pad chock full of favorites. I am currently reading Benjamin Black’s Elegy for April on it through its “Kindle” app. For me, with poor eyesight, the large print is a blessing.

    Delia, get one for your mom. She will love it. It has a bunch of great apps, does e mail, and much more.

  5. delialloyd says:

    Thanks, everybody. Hope i didn’t come across as too negative about e-readers. Just cautionary!

  6. dia says:

    I am an avid reader and hardly ever get real books anymore. I just love having a kindle and access to soooo many books whenever I want. I have gotten pretty spoiled. I have also read many many more books then I would have otherwise. It works for me, but I know there’s something comforting about holding an actual book and turning actual pages. I know people that received e-readers as gifts and don’t even use them.

Leave a Reply

